Senate Committee Chairs Appointed

From State House News

Sen. Stephen Brewer (D-Barre) has been named chair of the Senate Ways and Means Committee. Sen. Steven Baddour (D-Methuen) will serve as his vice chairman and Sen. Jennifer Flanagan (D-Leominster) will be assistant vice chair of the budget-writing panel.

Senate President Therese Murray's leadership team will include: Sen. Fred Berry (D-Peabody) will remain majority leader; Sen. Stanley Rosenberg (D-Amherst) will continue as Senate president pro tempore; Sen. Steven Tolman (D-Boston) succeeds Joan Menard as assistant majority leader; Sen. Jack Hart (D-South Boston) succeeds Marian Walsh as majority whip; and Sen. Harriette Chandler (D-Worcester) succeeds Tolman as assistant majority whip.

Sen. Marc Pacheco (D-Taunton) will chair the Committee on Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture; Sen. Benjamin Downing (D-Pittsfield) will chair the Committee on Telecommunications, Utilities and Energy; Sen. Thomas McGee (D-Lynn) will chair the Committee on Transportation; Sen. James Welch (D-West Springfield) will chair the Committee on Municipalities and Regional Government; Sen. Susan Fargo (D-Lincoln) will chair the Committee on Public Health; Sen. Gale Candaras (D-Wilbraham) will chair the Committee on Revenue; Sen. Kenneth Donnelly (D-Arlington) will chair the Committee on State Administration and Regulatory Oversight; and Sen. James Eldridge will chair the Committee on Housing.

If there are other committees you are interested in, please contact Nancy Goodman at and she will send you the full list.


© 2010 ELM - Environmental League of Massachusetts - All Rights Reserved.

site by cdeVision